Merge pull request #3670 from Infisical/ENG-2827
feat(secret-sharing): Require Login for Secrets Shared to Specific Emails
@@ -5,42 +5,53 @@ description: "Learn how to share time & view-count bound secrets securely with a
|
||||
---
|
||||
|
||||
Developers frequently need to share secrets with team members, contractors, or other third parties, which can be risky due to potential leaks or misuse.
|
||||
Infisical offers a secure solution for sharing secrets over the internet in a time and view count bound manner. It is possible to share secrets without signing up via [share.infisical.com](https://share.infisical.com) or via Infisical Dashboard (which has more advanced funcitonality).
|
||||
Infisical offers a secure solution for sharing secrets over the internet in a time and view-count bound manner. It is possible to share secrets without signing up via [share.infisical.com](https://share.infisical.com) or via Infisical Dashboard (which has more advanced functionality).
|
||||
|
||||
With its zero-knowledge architecture, secrets shared via Infisical remain unreadable even to Infisical itself.
|
||||
## Sharing a Secret
|
||||
|
||||
## Share a Secret
|
||||
<Steps>
|
||||
<Step title="Navigate to the 'Secret Sharing' page and click 'Share Secret'">
|
||||

|
||||
</Step>
|
||||
<Step title="Configure Secret Share">
|
||||

|
||||
|
||||
1. Navigate to the **Organization** page.
|
||||
2. Click on the **Secret Sharing** tab from the sidebar.
|
||||
- **Name (optional):** A friendly name for the shared secret.
|
||||
- **Your Secret:** The secret content.
|
||||
- **Password (optional):** A password which will be required when viewing the secret.
|
||||
|
||||

|
||||
- **Limit access to people within organization:** Only lets people within your organization view the secret. Enabling this feature requires secret viewers to log into Infisical.
|
||||
- **Expires In:** The time it'll take for the secret to expire.
|
||||
- **Max Views:** How many times the secret can be viewed before it's destroyed.
|
||||
|
||||
<Note>
|
||||
Infisical does not have access to the shared secrets. This is a part of our
|
||||
zero knowledge architecture.
|
||||
</Note>
|
||||
- **Authorized Emails (optional):** Emails which are authorized to view this secret. Enabling this feature requires secret viewers to log into Infisical. Each email will receive the shared secret link in their inbox after creation.
|
||||
</Step>
|
||||
<Step title="Copy Link and Share Secret">
|
||||
After creating the shared secret, its link will be displayed. Share this with the intended recipients.
|
||||
|
||||
3. Click on the **Share Secret** button. Set the secret, its expiration time and specify if the secret can be viewed only once. It expires as soon as any of the conditions are met.
|
||||
Also, specify if the secret can be accessed by anyone or only people within your organization.
|
||||
<Info>
|
||||
If no organization or email restrictions are set, anyone with this link can view the secret before it expires.
|
||||
</Info>
|
||||
|
||||

|
||||

|
||||
</Step>
|
||||
<Step title="Access Shared Secret">
|
||||
Visiting the secret link will display its contents.
|
||||
|
||||
<Note>
|
||||
Secret once set cannot be changed. This is to ensure that the secret is not
|
||||
tampered with.
|
||||
</Note>
|
||||

|
||||
</Step>
|
||||
</Steps>
|
||||
|
||||
5. Copy the link and share it with the intended recipient. Anyone with the link can access the secret before its expiration condition. Hence, it is recommended to share the link only with the intended recipient.
|
||||
## Deleting a Shared Secret
|
||||
|
||||

|
||||
To delete a shared secret, click the **Trash Can** icon on the relevant shared secret row in the [**Secret Sharing**](https://app.infisical.com/organization/secret-sharing?selectedTab=share-secret) page.
|
||||
|
||||
## Access a Shared Secret
|
||||

|
||||
|
||||
Just click on the link you received to access the secret. The secret will be displayed on the screen & for how long it is valid.
|
||||
## FAQ
|
||||
|
||||

|
||||
|
||||
## Delete a Shared Secret
|
||||
|
||||
In the **Secret Sharing** tab, click on the **Delete** button next to the secret you want to delete. This will delete the secret immediately & the link will no longer be accessible.
|
||||
<AccordionGroup>
|
||||
<Accordion title="Can secrets be changed after they are shared?">
|
||||
No, secrets cannot be changed after they've been created. This is to ensure that secrets are not tampered with.
|
||||
</Accordion>
|
||||
</AccordionGroup>
|
||||
|
||||
|
Before Width: | Height: | Size: 54 KiB After Width: | Height: | Size: 580 KiB |
|
Before Width: | Height: | Size: 39 KiB After Width: | Height: | Size: 621 KiB |
BIN
docs/images/platform/secret-sharing/delete-secret.png
Normal file
|
After Width: | Height: | Size: 1010 KiB |
|
Before Width: | Height: | Size: 542 KiB After Width: | Height: | Size: 1019 KiB |
|
Before Width: | Height: | Size: 1.2 MiB After Width: | Height: | Size: 1.3 MiB |